News & Highlights
8th Interstate squash Championship 2010-Finals

Friday 29-Oct-10

Tamil Nadu’s young and promising WISPA professional player, Anaka Alankamony was the cynosure of all eyes as she made short work of Delhi’s Diya Kumar in guiding her state to clinch the coveted Team title in the Girls Under-19 section of the National Inter-State Squash Championship here today.

Alankamkony gave the vital lead in the first match against Diya Kumar with a clinical 11-5, 11-2, 11-4 win but her state mate Sai Merra brought her best to ward off the challenge from Vishruti Sahni at 6-11, 11-5, 11-2, 11-8 for the title.

With the Tamil Nadu Boys duo of Ravi Dixit, a PSA registered player and Deepak Mishra won the title against another host team, Tamil Nadu-B, Maharashtra boys put paid to the aspirations of Tamil Nadu boys in the Boys Under-15 final match.

After Kush Kumar put up a spirited and superior display to win his match against Abhimanya Shah 11-0, 11-7, 11-9, both Roshan Kumarkanna and Sandeep Ramachandran could not survive despite fighting all the way before failing to cash in on their chances at vital times.

The Girls Under-15 title went to Delhi as they defeated Maharashtra 2-0 through Pankhuri Malhotra and Tanvi Khanna.

In the matches to decide the third place (bronze medal), Delhi won their matches in the Boy's Under 15 and 19 and Girls Under-19, while Tamil Nadu-A finished third in the Girls-Under 15 section.

Results of Final matches:

Boys (Un-19)
Tamil Nadu-A bt Tamil Nadu-B (2-0):

Ravi Dixit bt Deepak Mishra 11-6,11-7,11-9 and Vrishab Koitan bt Pragun Khemka 11-6,11-6,11-3 and Boys Un-15: Maharastra bt Tamil Nadu A (2-1): Abhimanyu Shah lost Kush Kumar 11-0,11-7,11-9, Raghav Mehrotra bt Roshan Kumarkanna 11-8,10-12,11-6,11-8, Madhav Dhingra bt Sandeep Ramachadran 10-12,11-2,11-8,13-11.

Girls (Un-19)
Tamil Nadu-A bt Delhi-A (2-0):

Anaka Alankamony bt Diya kumar 11-5,11-2,11-4 and Sai Merra bt Vishruti Sahni 6-11,11-5,11-2,11-8 and Girls Un-15: Delhi A beat Maharastra (2-0): Pankhuri Malhotra bt Aishwarya Nambiar 11-7,11-4,11-1and Tanvi Khanna – bt Jui Kalgutkar 11-5,11-3,11-5.